I’ve had this on repeat for most of the day. 

It showed up in my suggestions on iTunes this morning, presumably because of the CMAs (which I would have had no clue were happening if not for Facebook) and my unapologetic leaning towards semi-depressing country music. 

The whole album is pretty great, but this song stuck with me.

Brad has said that he married me because I’m tough and I can handle anything. But for as much as I’d love to believe that’s true, it’s not, and there’s a lot of grief and stress and frustration and anger that he’s had to be the face of. He’s bore the brunt of a million things that had nothing to do with him. 

Because he knew I needed him to. That I couldn’t.

We don’t have a perfect relationship, at all. He drives me crazy. We bickered tonight about the Swiffer Wet Jet, for God’s sake. But I’m more aware than I’ve probably ever been that he’s stood very, very tall in situations he wasn’t in any way obligated to, other than that we are married and, in that way, he sort of agreed that he would.  

I always say he’s the strongest person I know, and it’s got nothing to do with that fact that he can (literally) run 100 miles in a day and withstand ridiculous amounts of pain. It’s because he’s seen me struggle with myself and with others and with him and had unwavering faith that we’d come through the other side. 

He’s been fearless over the last few years. And he’s absorbed everything I’ve thrown his direction. And he’s the reason I’m still here.

Fire away…Take your best shot, show me what ya got, honey, I’m not afraid… 

 

Leave a Reply

