Archives: December 8, 2012

Wrapping Christmas presents last night and watching “She’s Having a Baby” (because those two activities clearly go together), Brad asked, “So, am I the guy you thought I’d be when you married me?”

Without hesitation, I said, “No, you turned out better than I thought.” The truth, yes, but also, I figured, a nice sentiment.

Wrong.

After some silence and then multiple requests for clarification, I said, “Look, was I completely sure of your ability to manage our life in college when I was trying to, in the wee hours of the morning, convince you that climbing OVER a building maybe wasn’t the best way to get home? Or that sleeping on the neighbors lawn wasn’t a good idea? No. So, I think it’s fair to say this has turned out better than I thought.”

Even Brad–who I’ve always said I married because I knew we’d never have a boring conversation–couldn’t argue that one…

Leave a Reply

