Archives: Because now there are five, and it’s still true…

November 24, 2013

“When you don’t know, I will…”

I say quite often that I chronicle our life in this way for our kids, so that they have a record of what it was like to grow up in this family (for better or worse). I do it so that, between all the “I love yous” and hugs (and timeouts and deep sighs) they have it in writing that I thought they were awesome.

The same goes for Brad. I just don’t say it as often.

But I heard this song the other day, and that line struck me. We’ve been together 15 years, married 10, and, in the last five, bought a house; made careers; watched my parents get divorced; lived with my mom; survived late night phone calls and ICU and grown-up decisions and hospice and death and more grown-up decisions; welcomed three kids; lost two; raised four…and there were plenty of times where I DIDN’T know. And he did. He always does.

I tell him it drives me bonkers. But I’m putting it in writing that, honestly, I wouldn’t know what to do without it…

IMG_4574

Leave a Reply

